STARTERS: A Beginner’s Guide to Creative Writing

starters
Well, here it is — my creative writing guidebook for beginners — Starters: A Beginner’s Guide to Creative Writing.

While folks can still re-read my past blog posts for Starters‘ chapters, you can have them all in one place either as a slim print book or as an even slimmer Kindle ebook.

As usual, I have a free PDF version, mostly for my ENGL 2307 Creative Writing I students so that they don’t have to worry about buying a textbook with money they don’t have, but you can download it, too.

(By the way, if you live near the eastern part of the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex and want to take a creative writing class for elective college credit, then feel free to enroll in my Fall 2017 class. ::grin::)

The past two months (March-April) have been me wearing my English full-time faculty hat, what with teaching and grading five freshman Composition I and II classes, co-sponsoring my campus’ English Honor Society (Sigma Kappa Delta),  coordinating a student writing contest, and participating in my campus’ Literary and Fine Arts Festival.

Now that the Spring 2017 semester is winding down (Finals Week will end tomorrow), I can get a little bit of breathing space, as I’ll only be teaching two Composition II classes online this summer (from the comfy confines of my home office) and work on my next two book projects: that sequel to my novel Ye Watcher and Ye Holy Ones and another memoir, this time about balancing work, writing, and being a student.

Anyways, that’s where I am, as we barrel through May 2017. And now I must answer an email from a student who ought to have practiced time management just a little bit better this semester. 😉

Gallery | This entry was posted in Creative Writing, EDUCATION, Teaching, The Writing Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

