This Geek’s Quick Movie List

yodageekThe spring semester ended nearly two weeks ago, and here are the movies (mostly online streaming) that I saw from then to now, inbetween teaching my Maymester ENGL 1302 class (which has been a crazy ride so far):

Captain America: The Winter Soldier <– WOW.
Thor: The Dark World <– I miss Branagh’s direction; Eccleston was bad-ass.
Star Trek Into Darkness <– nice twist on the previous ST2
Pacific Rim <– my friend Kat loved this so much that it convinced me to watch it on Amazon; it was surprisingly good.
The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
<– both the kiddo and I enjoyed this
The LEGO Movie <–
Emmett’s gonna be Starlord? COOL!
The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
<– lots of exposition; eagles are cool.

So what’s next? Well, after the reboot of Spiderman, I’m not clamoring to see the most recent version. The same goes for Godzilla and even X-Men, even though the actors themselves are awesome (Sir Ian! Sir Patrick!).

What with my schedule these days pressed time-wise, I’ve become very selective in what sci-fi/fantasy movies I will watch. This is what happens when a geek grows up, I suppose: I may be an eleven-year old geek-girl inside, but I have definite 42-year-old woman responsibilities to keep.

Also, limiting my viewing to PG-rated fare when the kiddo is awake has me watching lots of Doctor Who (revived series), Star Wars, Avengers: Earth’s Mightiest Heroes, and Phineas and Ferb (which is a helluva lot better than He Who Shall Not Be Sponged). This has influenced what I’m chomping on the bit to see later this year:

How to Train Your Dragon 2 <– next month — yay!
Doctor Who: Series 8 <– sometime in August, which can’t come fast enough
Guardians of the Galaxy
<– Emmett’s Starlord!
The Hobbit: Battle of Five Armies <– I’ve read the book, so I’ll give no spoilers

And for 2015? Of course, Avengers 2: Age of Ultron and Star Wars VII (Help me, JJ Abrams — you’re my only hope.)

That’s plenty enough, what with teaching summer classes, keeping the kiddo busy when school ends next week, chugging away at Ye Olde Novel 2, and prepping for my sabbatical writing project starting in late August.

As I said –grown-up responsibilities.

But I’ll always be a geek. Raising another geek. 😉

 

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in Movies, Pop Culture, QUIRKS and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This Geek’s Quick Movie List

  1. Debra Glass says:

    I have an assortment of yarns that I would like to donate in the south Jersey area. Any hints of places to do this?

Leave a Reply

