Flannery O’Connor Dissertation Finally Published

MKoCthumbnail2Once upon a time, after I earned my PhD in May 2006, I pursued getting my dissertation published with an academic press. I actually got a serious bite from a university press (one amongst dozens to whom I sent out the book proposal).

But after nearly two years of non-followup-communication from that publisher (and after two years into a permanent full-time faculty position at a community college), the pressure to get my dissertation published was no longer there. Thus, my manuscript just sat there — mothballed.

However, I would find myself referring to my dissertation to my composition students. Surprisingly, it was not as an example of Flannery O’Connor scholarship (although I was and still am proud of what I accomplished), but as an example what a successful result of the writing and research process CAN BE — if they only trusted in the process.

Also, as time passed, the era of free and user-friendly self-publication arrived, so I thought, “Why not?”

So, world, here it is. (For a free version, check here.)

Publication Date: August 8, 2013
ISBN/EAN13: 978-1492102670
Page Count:238
Binding Type:US Trade Paper
Trim Size:5.5″ x 8.5″
Language:English
Color:Black and White
Related Categories: Nonfiction/ Literary Criticism / American

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in Academic Research, AVOCATIONS, EDUCATION, Faith and Religion, Learning, LQ POV, Reading, Teaching, The Writing Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

