3 1/2 More Weeks

In 3 1/2 more weeks, this exhausting Spring semester will be over.

I have never been this involved with the inner workings of my college’s various event and programs planning (usually categorized as “institutional service” in my performance review), in addition to being extremely active in what administration calls “student service”– that is, being an active faculty advisor to a student organization.

I have one more panel discussion of which I’m participating, and that should be it for the official non-teaching duties that I’ve found myself doing this Spring 2010 semester.

Such heavy work wears on the body, paradoxically enough, even though it’s not particularly physically laborious.   But the past few days, I’ve been dragging through the afternoon, dropping into bed as soon as I put Daniel to bed at 9pm — contributed, no doubt, by my seasonal allergies and the meds to alleviate the symptoms.

There are days when I miss having the time to work on my creative writing, as well as exercising on a routine basis.  But between being on a fast-paced conveyor belt at work (figuratively speaking), playing catch-up with grading, and tending an overly-active 2.5 year old from the time that I pick him up from preschool to the time that I put him to bed…

Creative writing and exercising?  I’m just lucky that I remember to shower every other day and balance my checkbook.

Eating has been whatever I can find that fits the “protein, carbs, plant matter, water’ criteria, which often means “scrambled egg, toast, green smoothie drink, water” on some days and “yogurt, oatmeal, apple, water” on other days.  Yeah, not very exciting, but it’s quick, somewhat balanced, and cheap.  (Thank God for Gerber and Beech Nut, or poor Daniel would be hard-pressed to find anything that I eat enough for him to grow by.)

I find myself in an oddly “Groundhog Day” existence, in which one day bleeds into the next, which bleeds into the next, with very little variation.  Only the check lists that get checked, the bills that get paid, and the changing days of the weather tell me that time is indeed passing. 

In fact, just yesterday, in giving Daniel’s teacher a lift home from school, I was surprised that Daniel had grown an inch from last week when I noticed that he looked much bigger in his car seat.

Wow, I need a break — even for just a little while.   And, 3 1/2 weeks (or so), I will get one.

I can hardly wait.

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in EDUCATION, Family & Parenthood, QUIRKS, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

