Babyhood Going Away

Here are recent pics of Daniel, just taken this past Sunday, after his evening bath:

Sitting in the Baby Bathtub
Sitting in the Baby Bathtub
Standing in the Baby Bathtub
Standing in the Baby Bathtub

He’s outgrown this infant bathtub (which he’s had since he was a newborn); he didn’t have any room to move around or play with his ducky and other bath toys.  I’ve been bathing him in a large storage bin, in the bathtub (as a way of saving water and easy clean-up — an idea I got from some parents’ forums).  After two baths, in which he happily splashed around, I felt confident to give away the baby bathtub (along with his now-unused high chair).

I must admit that I felt a little sad, giving away these little signs of Daniel’s babyhood.  He’s rapidly outgrowing the crib (in regards to height), and so I’ve been checking out toddler beds on Craigslist.  And maybe Daniel’s ready for a bed, but I’m not: Daniel looks so safe and calm, sleeping in his little crib, and in the morning, whether awake or still asleep, he is still safe in his crib.   I have no reason to think that Daniel will start wandering around in the night, getting into danger.  Just a bit or mommy paranoia that I’ll have to get over, and soon.

And, just two months shy of his second birthday, Daniel being able to get out of his sleeping space to use a potty (whenever he does get potty-trained, that is) is a good thing to learn.

::whistful sigh::  That first picture looks a lot like his early baby ones, but the second is definitely “I’m not a baby.  I’m a BOY.”  Not that there’s anything wrong in that — I just didn’t realize just how fast the baby months go away.

He DOES look happy, doesn’t he?  🙂

2 thoughts on “Babyhood Going Away

  1. You don’t need to switch beds unless he starts to climb out. (I went out and bought a toddler bed the day after C. climbed out and I heard a big thud in the night. I think she was more startled at being loose in the dark vs. the bump onto the floor.)
    My mom just kept the side down when my younger brothers were older. I also remember just a mattress on the floor.
    All this is to say, I think I still have a toddler bed frame that works with a standard crib mattress. So when the time comes, give me a call.

Leave a comment