A Gig Closer to Home

Well, I’ve just applied for a teaching position at the community college where I first started teaching on the college-level, nearly ten years ago.

I waffled, back and forth, on whether I should apply, asking the Hubby for advice.  I don’t need a job — I have one, and a stable one at that.  I’m sure plenty of unemployed or underemployed folks with an MA in English need this position.  Also, I like the people I work with, the classes I teach, and even the students.  My current place of employment isn’t perfect, but it’s a good place.

So why did I apply?  That 25-mile commute, which was no big deal when I got hired back in fall 2006, has become a problem. 

When Daniel gets sick and I have to pick him up from daycare within 30 minutes, I often feel like a harried Domino’s Pizza delivery person, running late, in order to pick him up. 

Also, all of this recent news of daycare vans forgetting to pick up or drop off children from school is giving me serious heebie-jeebies.  As it is, once Daniel begins school (granted, a handful of years from now), I would have to depend on a daycare van to drop him off and/or pick him up from school, as both the Hubby’s and my class schedules often conflict with school class schedules.  In order to make an 8am class, I have to drop off Daniel at daycare by 7:15am, and many elementary schools around here don’t start until 7:45am.  As for picking up Daniel on time, I would have to leave my current college at 2pm (which seriously limits what committees I can serve and what classes I can teach).

Working at a place only five minutes away from home (and, therefore, Daniel’s daycare or any potential school of his) would take care of all of this and really put my mind at ease.  (Additionally, working at a community college that actually services my community would be a nice change.)

So, I applied.  And, depending on what person North Lake is specifically looking for, I may get an interview, or I may not. 

We’ll see…

This entry was posted in Family & Parenthood, QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Gig Closer to Home

  1. Pingback: Got an Interview « I Am the Lizard Queen!

  2. lizardqueen says:

    Z: Nope — DCCCD doesn’t do tenure, just perpetual 3-year contracts once a person puts in three years with the district. Since these two colleges are in the same district, I should be good.

  3. Zathras says:

    I can relate. Long commutes are awful and are a bad drag on family life.

    Would this affect your tenure track/status at all?

Leave a Reply

