Fun with a Caulking Gun

One of my “gotta get this done” projects was to caulk the windows and weatherstrip the doors, in order to cut down on the heating bill this winter.  Well, I did that Thursday (while Daniel was at daycare and the Hubby was working on a music project).  But I was so caught up in the “Don’t think about it, just DO IT” mode of thinking that I mindlessly caulked the windows at the front of the house SHUT.

I was just finishing the last window when I thought, “Hold on.  I think I just did something STUPID.”  So I rechecked my earlier work (they were the first ones that I did that beautiful Thursday day), and a long stream of expletives exploded in my head as I said out loud, “Yes, I DID do something stupid.”

Fortunately, the acrylic caulking sealant hadn’t fully cured (i.e., dried) yet.  So with my folding knife, I split the seals and started pulling out and scraping off half-cured, smelly, sticky sealant.

And that’s how my fun with a caulking gun took all day Thursday, just in time to pick up Daniel from daycare come late afternoon.

::cue Homer head-slap::

Thankfully, the windows can now open *and* the house isn’t as drafty as it used to be (just in time for the return of the cold weather temperature today).

This entry was posted in Arts & Crafts, AVOCATIONS, Personal Wealth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

