Decluttering and Organizing on Epiphany

After dropping off Daniel to daycare, I got to decluttering and organizing the house this lovely Epiphany.  After vacuuming, doing laundry and dishes, and finishing up Daniel’s room (put up various wall-hangings on one bare wall and put down a 1-2-3 puzzle-piece playmat in front of the low shelves housing his toys), I loaded up the car to donate stuff:

  • Books no longer read/needed: Half-Price Books
  • Unused bulky exercise gear, small furniture, and clothing: Goodwill
  • Unused construction material: Habitat for Humanity (which I ran out of time to do, but definitely on my To-Do list when the next break comes)

I also did something I hadn’t done in a long, long time: hemmed pant cuffs and ironed.  I found these pair of pants at Target’s clearance racks that looked all professional-great-for-work and actually looked flattering on my still-post-pregnancy flabby-front body, except that they were much too long for me.  (Of course, with me at 5’2″, most pants that aren’t jeans or sweats are much too long for me.)  After doing all of the above errands and chores, I wavered between hemming them myself or having a professional alter them. 

“You slacker, you can hem your own damn pants,” I said to myself.  So I did.  Of course, I’m so out of practice, that it took me nearly two hours to do it (mostly because I can’t machine-sew a straight line to save my life — to my mother’s great despair).  But the pants are hemmed.  And with a decluttered, organized house and newly hemmed and ironed pants, I can safely say that I’m ready to get back to work that actually gives me a paycheck.

Now, if only I can survive Daniel’s check-up and vaccinations tomorrow.  Oh, and my own “women wellness” exam (to use a polite euphemism) this Friday.  ::shudder::

But anyways — if you celebrate Epiphany, I hope your presents (either under the tree or in your stockings/shoes) were wonderful.  Ours were, of course, chocolate.  🙂

So I guess I have one more organizing to do: pack up Christmas ornaments and doo-dads.  OH JOY!!!!

Nighty-night, y’all.

a

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in AVOCATIONS, Personal Wealth, QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Decluttering and Organizing on Epiphany

  1. lizardqueen says:

    C: Many many hugs back!

  2. celogo says:

    I have been reading about the Missionaries of Charity’s simplicity. I yearn for it. I really do.

    I went to an awesome orthopedic surgeon yesterday. I am mobile again, which means I can finally DO STUFF instead of sleeping the pain off.

    So, my hunger for simple order has been further fueled by your tale of success!

    Many hugs! Happy New Year!

  3. Becky says:

    I too have been trying to get my house organized! I think that it was Stephanie Bennett Vogt’s latest book, “Your Spacious Self” that really got me excited and motivated to do this. Stephanie’s book really reminded me how wonderful it is to have an organized house- it made me remember that when my house is clean I feel lighter, less attached, more in the flow! Good luck with putting your Christmas ornaments away!

Leave a Reply

