Navy Fathers

This morning on Weekend Edition, I heard about Gizelle Claudio’s photo.  The fact that, after twenty years in the US Navy, Claudio’s father could only find a job as a sanitary worker in Beverly Hills reminded me of my own father’s job search, post-Navy.

I wrote an essay eight years ago about that.  But considering that I had a dream last night about a person I used to know, dressed in formal Navy dress whites, I suppose the emotions and ideas in that essay still apply today.

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in AVOCATIONS, Blogs and Websites, History & Currents Events, LQ POV, The Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Navy Fathers

  1. lizardqueen says:

    And I just found out that the oldest son of one of my dear friends has gone Navy — going the Nuclear Engineer route, come next year.

    It’s funny, the coincidence. 🙂

    And, yeah, it *is* sad that the “people skills” are overlooked when ex-military look for a civie job. I had two 20-something ex-Army in the same Comp I class this semester, and, boy, you could tell they were tired of being in a community college, just to re-up their “hard skills.”

  2. convivialdingo says:

    Navy guys seem to stick together I’ve found…

    It really depends on how your skills translate into the commercial world. Sadly, most of the good “people skills” you learn in the forces are overlooked for “hard skills.”

Leave a Reply

