Like Feeding Little Birds

This past Sunday was a little holiday party, hosted by one of the parents of the daycare toddlers. 

Just like every other parent at that daycare, we never knew each other’s names other than “[Insert child’s name] Mommy” or “[Insert child’s name] Daddy”, and we only ran into each other when we dropped off our kids in the morning and picked them up in the afternoon.

So it was a nice change, as our kids ran around in this nice, huge house like a tiny pack of wildebeest as we parents stood around, eating food and talking like grown-ups.

That is, when one or two of us wasn’t doing “toddler patrol”.

But one particular incident was very cute. 

I had a plate of cut-up strawberries, and I was trying to feed some of them to Daniel, He Who Spurns Fresh Fruit.  As usual, it was no go, as he would promptly spit the strawberry piece out. 

However, as soon as the *other* toddlers knew what I was doing, I was promptly *mobbed* by these two-and-a-half foot tall creatures, all with their mouths open like little baby birds.  They wouldn’t go away unless I fed them, and fed them *now*.  So I did — the uneaten, pristine ones, not the ones that Daniel spat out, of course. 

And afterwards — away they went, just as quickly as they arrived.

And, stupid me, I forgot to bring my digicam to take pictures!

It was a nice change, from the “Groundhog Day: Parenthood Version” that is the Lizard Queen’s life these days.  🙂

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in Family & Parenthood, QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

