My Baby Sister’s B-Day

Hey, my baby sister’s birthday is today.

Okay, maybe I shouldn’t call her my “baby” sister anymore, since she’s 29 now.  Egads, she’s *29*.  I remember her in diapers.

I remember her first birthday, wearing those huge Sophia Loren sunglasses in her stroller during the celebratory beach party.

I remember me and my younger sister Wen trying to teach her how to say “banana.” She kept saying, in her two-year old way, “ma-na-na,” even though she could say “ba” and “na” just fine separately.  It just cracked us up, her two older sisters, that she could do that, but would say “manana” whenever we said, “Okay, say ‘banana.'”

I remember bailing her out of jail for being an idiot teenager and shoplifting at the mall.

All of those memories of my baby sister, and today is the beginning of her last year in her 20s.   She’s become a strong, caring, and smart woman. I’m so proud of her.

Happy birthday, Shellfish.  Your nerd of an oldest sister loves you.

This entry was posted in QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Baby Sister’s B-Day

  1. lizardqueen says:

    As They Might Be Giants say, “TIME… IS MARCHING ON…. AND TIME… IS STILL MARCHING ON.”

  2. Austin says:

    My little sister is graduating from highschool in December… makes me feel old. And it was my birthday on the 13th…

    I’m eroding as the waves of time crash into me…

Leave a Reply

