60-Something Year Old Fan-Girls

Yesterday, the Hubby, Daniel, and I were at my nephew’s fifth birthday party celebration at my folks’ place.  Lots of Filipinos, lots of Filipino food — much fun.  But as the evening wore down, it turned a little *weird* because my MOM, of all people discovered that late 1970s-early 1980s band, Journey, and a Journey concert DVD was playing on the big screen TV.

Now, Journey was one of my favorite bands in middle school and high school (on top of Def Leppard, Led Zeppelin, and Guns and Roses).  But it’s not that Journey that my mom (and her friend Leyte, whom I affectionately think of as “the Kareoke Queen” in my head) had gone ga-ga over and was watching, singing along with the concert.

It’s this Journey.  No Steve Perry.  Arnel Pineda.

And, yes, the reason why my mom and Leyte’s gone ga-ga is because Arnel Pineda is a Filipino who sounds damn close to Steve Perry.

As an old fan of the original line-up, it’s like “Holy cognative dissonance, Batman!” to hear that voice out of a little Filipino.  But what’s weirder than that is having my mom and Leyte pump me for info about Journey, like giggly fan girls, and me glancing over at my dad and Leyte’s husband Ralph, both of whom looked at me with eye-rolling bemusement.

🙂 Fan girls know no age boundaries!

And, yeah — he sounds pretty good.  🙂

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in Music, QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 60-Something Year Old Fan-Girls

  1. Heather says:

    Arrgh I spent way to much time on you tube just exploring other covers he and his old band,The Zoo, did. It was like a trip through my teen years. He can sound like whoever he wants. Heart wasn’t quite right but that’s probably due to that Y chromosome.

  2. lizardqueen says:

    CD: I think she has seen the prison “thriller”, too. 🙂

  3. convivialdingo says:

    Wow!!! He’s really good at that, though!

    Has she seen the prison “thriller” video? Odd, but they’re really good too! 🙂

  4. celogo says:

    OMG, HE is GOOD! Freaky…..

Leave a Reply

