Survived the First Week of P90X

So that I don’t turn into an absolute squishball this summer, with my ass in front of my laptop prepping for fall classes and the literary program in October (when Daniel is at daycare), I’ve finally cracked open the P90X DVDs that I bought back in January and started the program last week.

Just two words: GOOD GOD!!!! 

Having done absolutely no exercise since Daniel’s birth (I had to quit my martial arts class because I was barely hanging in there, balancing work and home life, and something had to give — which still makes me sad), I was afraid that I was too remedial for this exercise program and that I would really hurt myself.

Fortunately, thanks to Technogypsy’s training, enough of my former fitness was intact that, even though I was sloppy and out of breath and about to faint a few times, I could still hang in there.  And, after a week, I can feel that it’s making a difference (even though my appearance hasn’t changed).

The real test is, once the fall classes begin, if I’m able to continue.  I’m determined to finish the whole 90-day program, ending in mid-October.  All I know is that, in order for me to keep up with everything in my life, I need to be healthy and fit.  Afterall, the Big 4-0 is only a few, short years away, and I’ll still have a very young son to keep up with.

Anyways — must log off and do an hour’s worth of push-ups and pull-ups today!

OH JOY!!!!

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in AVOCATIONS, Martial Arts/Fitness & Exercise. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Survived the First Week of P90X

  1. lizardqueen says:

    J: Cool… I read your “About Me” and am glad to hear another GenXer battling the dreaded “I ain’t in my 20s anymore, good God, what happend to my metabolism?” monster.

    And, actually, the fact that a (at the time) 45-year old personal trainer is who’s leading the workouts really really motivates me, including the “Ow ow ow OMG” faces that he makes at the end. Like a real person. 🙂

    I’ll try to stop by when I can!

  2. jayjayjajo says:

    Hey lizardqueen –

    I started my P90X venture last week. Today was Day 8 for me (plyos day). As you can probably attest – it’s an intense workout that leaves you drenched in sweat.

    I’ll be following along with you – keep up the good work.

    I’ve also decided to document my progress online – http://www.p90xreview.net – stop on by if you have time !

  3. lizardqueen says:

    SW: Many thanks! Today is Plyo day. I read your site, so you know what that’s like. ::whimper::

  4. The first couple of weeks are the hardest. After that, it doesn’t get easier but it does get less painful.

    I started the X for the same reason last year. I was 40 years old and had a 3 year old son. I need to stay in shape so that I can actively participate in his life.

    Good luck with the X.

  5. lizardqueen says:

    Will do! And good luck to you, as well. Trying to get back into shape, post-baby, while in one’s latter 30s is a pain in the patookus! 😉

    Right now, I think I may have done something to my right knee (hence me being awake — painkillers wore off). Nothing major, but it’ll make today’s workout (lots of cardio-jumping) that much more FUN. Oh. Joy.

  6. celogo says:

    OMG… let me know how it goes. Trying to get in shape for a 20 yr reunion… 😛

Leave a Reply

