Being Hit with the Busy Stick

I can’t believe it’s been nearly ten days since my last blog entry, and I don’t have time to write a properly lengthy one, either.  Teaching four hours straight (two Comp I classes, back to back), every single weekday until July 3 makes for very little down-time room.  50 students x 5 short essays x 1 research paper = 300 essays to read, edit, and assess, in 19 weekdays.

Let’s not mention the NEA Big Read literary programming at Eastfield that I’m still planning — this time, coordinating with the Events Planner at the Writer’s Garrett, in regards to the outside speaker for one of the events.  Meeting with her at Eastfield’s local Writer’s Garrett member sometime next week.

And, while all of this is going on, there’s Daniel, getting into everything.  He likes teething on POWER CORDS.  Yikes.  And I just found out this past week that, at age 12 months, when he gets moved to the Infant III room, the caregivers don’t bottle-feed the kiddos there.  They have to be weaned into taking their liquids into sippy cups.  Now, objectively speaking, that’s a good thing.  But that’s one other thing on my “To-Do List: wean baby from bottle in three months.”  And there’s that kid picture of me, at Taipei, Taiwan: three years old and still sucking on a baby bottle.  I’m also in diapers, too.

::sigh::

Okay, time to close up shop, head home, see if the Hubby (like me) needs food thrown into our maws, eat something, maybe get some grading done, and then pick up Daniel from daycare.  For once the baby’s at home, you can forget about me getting any serious grading done.

Wheeeee!!!!

Recent baby pictures will come up, once I can get away from that darn busy stick… maybe after the Fourth of July…

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in EDUCATION, Family & Parenthood, QUIRKS, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

