Stamping Out World-Wide Illiteracy, One Book at a Time

In researching ways for Eastfield’s chapter of Sigma Kappa Delta to serve not only its local community (the school, the city) but also the global community on a meaningful level (while still keeping to its mission as an English Honor Society), I discovered Better World Books.

It was as if a light bulb suddenly popped out of thin air. “Ah!”

The beauty of it is that the campus student organization (like, say SKD) doing the book drive gets paid for the books Better World Books accepts — and those books, in turn, BWB sells and donates a large part of the proceeds to international and national non-profit literacy programs.

And like all really good programs like this, it all started with a simple idea.

As for me, I’ll see if I can find books on Better World Books. And, oh yes, have SKD members run a BWB book drive or two next year! 🙂

This entry was posted in Blogs and Websites, EDUCATION, Learning, Reading, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stamping Out World-Wide Illiteracy, One Book at a Time

  1. That’s a great idea!! I preferred to keep most of my textbooks – if only because I know my way around them if ever I want to get that info again.

    I found another thing to do was to simply give them away to those coming after me.

Leave a Reply

