Can’t Grade to David Sedaris

As an extrovert, I can’t grade (or do any mental work, for that matter) without music or news or people babble as some sort of ambient white noise in the background.  Usually, I’d have the radio or TV on or, these days, Internet radio or YouTube or a news video going as I’m churning through student essays and unit exams.  Most of my brain would be on task, while a tiny little bubble would sort of absorb the ambient music/ noise/ voices, with about as much attention as a sea sponge.

But I found out today that this is *impossible* when it’s David Sedaris reading one of his essays.  I’d try to tune him out, but soon enough I’d pause much too often from my work, just to listen.

Yes, he’s that good.

Here’s a sample, in honor of the impending Holy Week and Easter holiday: Jesus Shaves.

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in AVOCATIONS, Blogs and Websites, Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

