MUP’s Silence

I’ve given up on getting my dissertation published.

After a year and a half of non-response from the university press that requested my manuscript for review back in October 2006, I realize that, it being 2008, I have neither the time, energy, nor motivation to update that scholarship.

In other words, I just don’t care anymore.

Yes, I waited for six months (their suggested reviewing time) before I wrote the editor letters and then sent emails, asking about the status of my manuscript.  May as well be screaming at a brick wall.

Whatever.  I’m done.  Maybe I’ll get the thing Lulu’d, just so it’ll be out there.  That is, if I ever have the time to get it Lulu’d.

Maybe when Daniel starts school.

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in Academic Research, AVOCATIONS, The Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MUP’s Silence

  1. lizardqueen says:

    Yeah, it is awful. Bleah.

    Anyways… I’ve lucked out because 1) my graduate degree easily translates into teaching several high-demand courses in the community colleges (Developmental Writing, Composition I & II), 2) I live in an area with three community college districts competing with each other, and, sorry to say, 3) I’m a “woman of color” (a big thing in an area as racially charged as the DFW metroplex).

    That pretty much equates to steady work in the community colleges — of course, that’s teaching, not researching. Since my CV is teaching-heavy, not research-and-publication-heavy, I’d have a snowball’s chance in hell in competing in a four-year college’s faculty search.

    Hell, I even let my membership with the MLA (my discpipline’s professional organization) lapse.

    So bye-bye university, hello community college.

  2. Zathras says:

    I know it’s awful. I’m going through the same issues. However, but it could be worse. Imagine if your job depended on getting it published.

    Research academia is glutted with smart, well-motivated people. I don’t know how most of them do it. That you were able to get a steady job with it without publishing requirements means you’re one of the lucky ones.

Leave a Reply

