My 2 Cents’ Worth on the Election

With Romney out, it’s McCain on the Republican side.  That’s good for the GOP, since, out of those who were and are running, McCain’s probably the best bet of the bunch in regards to his appeal in a general election.

As for the Democratic side, what with apportioned delegates, it’s still up in the air of who’s going to be the Dem. front-runner: Clinton or Obama?   But faced with the specter of McCain as the Rep. candidate, I hope it’s Obama.  My very-unscientific-gut tells me that Obama would have a greater electoral appeal than Clinton in a general election. 

With Obama being the Dem. candidate, we would have a real presidential election come November, with folks of all political stripes — especially moderates and independents, like yours truly — realizing that their vote would really count.  With Clinton as the Dem. candidate, I think she’ll go down in flames.  After all, McCain actually reached out to the Dems in the Senate, so much so that some conservatives in his own party, backing Romney, called him a “liberal masquerading as Republican.”  With Clinton’s Bill-baggage like a political albatross, I don’t think she’ll win against Old Man McCain.

But if it were McCain vs. Obama…

Now we’re talking!  ::rubs hands in voter-empowered expectation::

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in History & Currents Events, LQ POV. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My 2 Cents’ Worth on the Election

  1. lizardqueen says:

    J: Wow! Ok, no problemo about announcing your candidacy here. 🙂

  2. James says:

    Ok. I want to make an official announcement here, and this blog entry seems to be a good place to make it.

    I am running for state representative for District 105 (Irving, basically) on the Libertarian ticket.

    I hope to garner your support so that we can at least say to the powers that be that there is a real choice and a bigger government does not have to be in that mix. Soon I will have my own web-site and we can all get in there and talk about what we want in the state government.

    Believe me, I am not a high-pressure type of guy. I am not going to badger you for contributions and I am not going to even ask you to vote for me, even though that would be a very wise choice……

    What I hope to bring to Irving is an alternative to the Republican and Democratic ideals of growing government, growing taxation, and growing intrusion into our personal lives.

    My apologies to Lizardqueen for using her blog here as a messaging center for this announcement.

  3. The Citizen Bob says:

    Hey! I think, if you want a close election, try an Obama/Opra ticket vs. Huckabee/Colbert 🙂

  4. lizardqueen says:

    Z:Texas mattering in a nomination process? Inconceivable! 🙂

  5. Zathras says:

    Obama vs. McCain would be a great election. I really hope it happens. Looks like your neck of the woods will have some say in the nomination too. When was the last time Texas mattered in a nomination process?

  6. celogo says:

    A friend who is an Obama supporter says they are now talking about “Obama Republicans” like folks used to talk about “Reagan Democrats.”

Leave a Reply

