I Have a Recession-Proof Job!

Recession-Proof Jobs in 2008.

Actually, the worse the economy tanks, the better the education industry is, has been my experience.  As folks lose their jobs and can’t immediately find another one, they often go back to school to re-up their job skills, improve their qualifications, or even study for an entirely new career.  That’s what my parents did when my father retired from the Navy and couldn’t find a job immediately and when my mother got laid off, after thirteen years working for a hospital cafeteria.

Since I work in the community colleges in the aforementioned Sun Belt, this phenomenon is even more pronounced.

Job security, yo!

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in History & Currents Events, LQ POV. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to I Have a Recession-Proof Job!

  1. Alex says:

    Oh this is a trip! I was there in 75-77. I went to Old Piti School and New Piti School. If I remember correctly, wasn’t there a church across from Old Piti and a cemetary across from New Piti? I believe I had Mr. Wilder in the second grade and Mrs. Quitariano in the 3rd (at New Piti). W

    I miss Guam!

  2. Kathleen Crotteau says:

    I started school in Guam. I attended New Piti from 78-81. I had Mrs. Riccabar and Ms. Salivio… I don’t think the spelling is correct. I’m not sure who my other teacher was. When we left in 81 the teachers were on strike. I left a week before school got out… our substitute was a clown. Not being able to see my substitute teacher dress up as a clown did not make this second grader very happy.

    We were transferred to Groton, CT in ’81.

  3. Jeff Rowch says:

    I attended New Piti from 79-81. (kindergarten and 1st grade) I just recently found a picture of my Kindergarten class. If it wasn’t for the constant picture taking of my parents, I would have less memory of Guam than I do now. There is a girl that I remember for some strange reason by the name of Joy.

  4. lizardqueen says:

    Jenny: Being ahead in school stateside — that was my experience as well, which was amazing since New Piti was a PUBLIC American elementary school. Kind of makes you wonder.

    And, yes, I remember the cemetary across the street as well. Weirdly enough, I never felt spooked by it. 🙂

  5. Jennie Riepe says:

    I was on Google Earth tonight looking up the places I have lived in the past. One of them was Naval Station Guam. My family was stationed there for 5 1/2 years. I was surprised to see New Piti is no longer. Actually it saddened me a little. I went to both Old Piti and New Piti (74 – 79). I will have to say my education there was outstanding! After we left the Island we ended up in Ventura California and I must have been at least two years ahead of the other students in my class. I was promoted out of the 6th grade and put in Middle school and my sister graduated High School a year early. If my memory serves me right, there was a cemetery across the street from New Piti and possibly a Catholic church and when I was in the fourth grade the lady that started the village school died and was buried there. They turned the day into one of mourning and lined all us kids up on the side of he road to watch the procession. I am very vague on her exact name and don’t remember all the details but find it odd that they would rename the school. Even if it is now a middle school. Does anyone know anything more? Feel free to email me – jenniebird68@yahoo.com

  6. DAVID says:

    I went to Piti in 1964 through 1967.
    I loved the island. The beach . The naval base.
    The outside movies.

  7. lizardqueen says:

    I think, since my family lived there for 3.5 years (rare in a military family stationed overseas), that’s why I remember Guam as well as I do. But as the years go by (26 years and counting), I know that many of those memories start to get blurred and romanticized.

    Sometimes I consider visiting again. Perhaps I will, when my baby son is older so that he can have a memory of Guam for himself. 🙂

  8. flip mane says:

    I went to New Piti in 1979-80. I was in 4th grade at that time. I remember living on the Navy Base. But that’s about all I remember about my one year living on that island.

  9. Duncan W. says:

    I attended New Piti School in 1960-61. Please feel free to Email me. I have many memories of Guam. GUAM IS GOOD! Duncan W. ( LennonSongss@aol.com )

  10. lizardqueen says:

    I went to New Piti Elementary School in Guam from spring 1979 to the end of the school year 1982, that is, from the second half of first grade to the end of fourth grade.

    Then my dad got transferred to Dallas, so we moved.

    I’m glad to hear from somebody who remembers New Piti Elementary, since it doesn’t exist anymore.

  11. Joseanna says:

    Hi Lizardqueen!
    I just happened to run across your site while looking for information on my old elementary school(New Piti). What years did you go there? Just curious if maybe we went to school together=)

  12. lizardqueen says:

    CD: The way the world is these days — oh boy howdy, info security had better count! 🙂

  13. Hey, I hope information security counts!

  14. lizardqueen says:

    MWA-HA-HA-HA!

    ::maniacal laughter over::

    Yea, verily, human resources/management speak is often not grammatical.

  15. Zathras says:

    This is absolutely true. Community Colleges are like recession shelters.

    However, you did one of my big word usage pet peeves–“Up” as a verb—NOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

Leave a Reply

