Baby Gotz Da Fever

Thanks to a particularly mucousy little girl at daycare on 12/21, Daniel’s been working through a particularly lingering head and chest cold all of last week. But not once did he have a fever, and as the last of his cold symptoms began to wear off, this past weekend, I was comfortable enough to leave the little guy at my folks’ place so that the Hubby, JG, and I could see a Saturday evening showing of Tim Burton’s Sweeney Todd. (Pretty good version of it — the last time I saw a full production of Sweeney Todd was on PBS, when I was a middle schooler in the early ’80s.)

I had hoped to drop off the little guy at his daycare yesterday.  I still have an ungodly amount of lesson planning to do, what with teaching my first online class ever and unexpectedly being given a dual-credit section, taught at a high school.  But I didn’t want to neglect the little guy while being de facto “on the clock”, even while at home.  And since I was still paying his daycare tuition, whether he attended or not… but then he woke up with a 100.9 F fever (and climbing).

Baby Tylenol, lots of fluids, and an impromptu visit to his pediatrician.  Negative for flu, ear infection, and pneumonia.  Advice to continue the baby Tylenol and fluids regimen.  By late afternoon/early evening he seemed to be doing okay.  JG and Marmot came over for New Year’s Eve.  The Hubby made pizza, and JG brought movies.

But then Daniel’s temperature started rising again, and he became inconsolable.  Just before midnight, JG checked his temp: it was 103.  Yes, I panicked, although tried hard not to.  I called the pediatrician-on-call, and she advised that he go to a Dallas hospital that has a pediatric ER wing.  JG started packing up his things while the Hubby got directions.  But I checked his temp one more time and — thank God — the baby Tylenol that I gave him an hour ago was finally starting to take effect, for his temp was down to 101.

JG and the Hubby looked after Daniel as I got some shut-eye.  Around 2:30am, I woke up and relieved them of baby duty, so that the Hubby could get some sleep and JG could go home.  I am grateful to both of them.

It occurred to me only tangentially that it was a New Year, but only because I wrote the date on the feeding/changing log that I keep. As with everything in these Adventures in Mommyhood, Daniel doesn’t know that it’s New Year’s Eve or New Year’s Day.  It’s just another day, another hour, for him.

I’m just glad that his fever’s starting to go down to less alarming levels.  As I write this, he’s bouncing between 100 F and 102 F.  He’ll probably be like that until whatever viral bug that he got has worked itself through his system.  (His pediatrician said to call if he doesn’t stabilize to no-fever by Wednesday.)  Fortunately, at three months, that range is still considered low-grade fever.  If he were a newborn or still under 2 months old, I’d be calling the pediatrician again or perhaps even heading for the hospital.

Anyways… Happy New Year’s Day, everyone.   Wow, it’s 2008!

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in Family & Parenthood, Movies, Music, QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baby Gotz Da Fever

  1. lizardqueen says:

    Slowly but surely. Today is the first day where his temps are low enough that I’m not giving him Tylenol.

  2. Oh, poor little guy! Glad to hear he’s doing better.

Leave a Reply

