My Mom

I had forgotten this, until last night, that my mom used to hum this, when my siblings and I were little and my pa was far far away…

“Annie’s Song” — John Denver

You fill up my senses like a night in the forest,
like the mountains in springtime, like a walk in the rain,
like a storm in the desert, like a sleepy blue ocean.
You fill up my senses, come fill me again.

Come let me love you, let me give my life to you,
let me drown in your laughter, let me die in your arms,
let me lay down beside you, let me always be with you.
Come let me love you, come love me again.

You fill up my senses like a night in the forest,
like the mountains in springtime, like a walk in the rain,
like a storm in the desert, like a sleepy blue ocean.
You fill up my senses, come fill me again.

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in Music, QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Mom

  1. lizardqueen says:

    Kenny Rogers — yup, I heard his stuff growing up, too.

  2. celogo says:

    How sweet! Whar a great song for a mommy to sing!

  3. Too true… for me that also included Kenny Rogers and western swing.

    It’s funny.. a friend of mine from the past was friends with Denver. He helps run a big fan club called the world family LOL. Small world!

  4. Zathras says:

    I grew up with all these John Denver songs too. Every time I hear one makes me think of being a little kid in the 70s.

Leave a Reply

