My DNA

As long-time readers know, I’m adopted, having been adopted when I was just a baby a few months old. Although my adopted parents are full Filipino, I’m only half; the other half is Chinese (I was born in Taipei, Taiwan and spent the first months of my life in a Catholic orphanage).

Thus, in regards to my family health history, I have no clue. Sure, I can extrapolate some things from the health history of my adopted parents and siblings. After all, Filipinos have never been a large part of the human population, even in Asia; as one ethnic group, we share some common health problems, like osteoporosis and type II diabetes. But as I’ve mentioned, I’m only half Filipino; in regards to my Chinese DNA, I’m SOL. Also, these are just generalizations. I can’t look at an older blood relative and see a possible future of my health in him or her.

So that realization is what makes 23andMe look so appealing to me. I heard of it on Wire Science this past Wednesday. And even though, like the Hubby, images of Gattaca passed through my mind, for a person whose family health history is found only in herself, knowing what my DNA says about me is valuable knowledge indeed. This is particularly important, now that I’ve spawned and all.

I can’t afford it right now, of course — I’m still paying hospital bills and various consumer debt. But it’s definitely on my “things to do eventually” list.

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in Health and Longevity, SCIENCE & TECH. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My DNA

  1. Pingback: What’s in your DNA? #20

Leave a Reply

