I Had a Cat

I had a cat.

Her name was Harold, and there’s a funny story behind that.  As a teeny-tiny kitten, her foster mommy sexed her wrong, and named “him” Harold.  The name stuck, as she was already answering to “Harold” when she became my cat, several months later.

I had Harold since November 2001, when she was six months old.  She was sweet and fluffy white-and-tortoise-shell brown.  She had a little pink nose and bright yellow eyes.  She had a tiny “mew” that she never outgrew.

She had an independent streak and could hunt anything: birds, bugs, lizards, mice, even a squirrel or two.  She could sense when I felt sad, and she would find me, lie next to me, and purr, kneading her little needle claws into the blankie.  I would sometimes cry into her fur, and she just purred even more and didn’t go away.

She grew fat but could still run and jump; I called her my little Mongolian cat-pony.

She was my cat.

She became acutely sick just this past week; and I never really noticed just how sick she was, sleep-deprived and mommy-on-duty as I was.  I never noticed until this past weekend, when it was too late.

She had acute liver failure, and she was put down this morning.  And I couldn’t be there when the vet put her down, because I was home with the baby.  I couldn’t be there when my other “baby” died.

::deep breath::

My cat Harold: May 2001-November 19, 2007.  Rest in peace, little one…

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Had a Cat

  1. Tina says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I too had a cat. My father took her out and away when she got pregnant. I feel your pain because I never replaced her. How could I?

  2. eowyn says:

    Oh, Rufel, I’m very sorry. ::massive hugs::

Leave a Reply

