Getting Used to Baby… Ummm… STUFF

 My colleague next door to my office has two young children, and she warned me about this: baby poo that escapes a diaper and makes it on a baby’s back.

Guess what I discovered when I changed little Daniel’s diaper this very early morning?

YUP!

I’ve quickly discovered in the Adventures in Mommyhood a casual disregard to baby bodily fluids that normally would make me raise my hand “EWWWW”: I’ve been pee-d on, pooped on, spit up on, drooled on, and sneezed/coughed/runny-nose-d on.  I’ve wiped stinky sweaty skin cells out of the little dimples and folds of Daniel’s neck and armpits, sometimes with my bare hand (when a wet wipe wasn’t readily available), without a second thought (and quickly washed my hand afterwards).

I *haven’t* done what I saw my mom used to do with my younger siblings (and I guess with me, too, although I don’t remember): use Mommy Spit as a baby cleanser.  But I’ve been *tempted* though.

Woo-hoo!

10/30 update: Oh yeah — and I caught the baby’s cold.  Occupational hazard.

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in Family & Parenthood, QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Getting Used to Baby… Ummm… STUFF

  1. celogomama says:

    That is SO funny! When B. was a newborn, Roger was changing her diaper at my parents’ house.

    Roger said, “Did you make me a present?”

    Both of my parents’ jaws dropped.

    ::giggle::

    We figured her functioning properly really was a gift. And it sounded so much sweeter than “another dirty diaper?!?” Which is what we say to the twins. Heh. Guess that stuff is only a good thing for so many years. Or, maybe changing 2 at once is a little bit more of a gift than, oh well. :-0

  2. lizardqueen says:

    Heh! Yes, you did warn me! 🙂 Every diaper change is like a surprise gift — “I wonder what he gives me this time?”

  3. lomagirl says:

    I told you so. Funny, I just had a long discussion about this with another colleague from down the hall today. She had this happen infrequently- we had it for about a full month- or two.
    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

