I Know How It Feels

I know how it feels to be hated.

Some for stupid reasons… like the color of my skin, the slant of my eyes.

Some for good reasons… like stupid crap I’ve done, stupid crap I’ve said.

But being hated… it feels like your soul being torn apart, in sharp, ragged bits…

I really wish my little boy never has to feel this.

But I guess that’s asking way too much from this world, huh.

Things I think about as I see him, a little baby peacefully asleep…

without a care in the world.

This entry was posted in Family & Parenthood, QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Know How It Feels

  1. Pingback: “I choose love and here I am” « I Am the Lizard Queen!

  2. Nicole says:

    I hear you there. It’s worse on the parent than it is on the little ones. Welcome to the world of mommyhood! Horrific and wonderful all at the same time.

  3. Amen, amen, and, uhmmm… amen.

    This is the hardest thing about being a parent.

    I have told my little ones from birth that “everybody loves our…(insert name).”

    So, turned out, some kids did *not* love our (insert name).

    My response?

    Well shame on them!

    Because, really, having one’s soul nicked, bruised, or pummeled is just horrible, and *should* *not* happen.

    But it does, which is the next speech.

    The “turn your check and let ’em smack it again.” speech.

    Oh, how I wish it were a much different world!

Leave a Reply

