K. T. Tunstall

I heard her lots many months ago, but it was the Hubby finding her performance of “Black Horse and the Cherry Tree” a few weeks ago on YouTube that got me thinking of her again.  A great musician (who really knows her instruments), with a great voice and bittersweet lyrics.  She’s real cool…

“Black Horse and the Cherry Tree”

Well my heart knows me better than I know myself
So I’m gonna let it do all the talking

I came across a place in the middle of nowhere
With a big black horse and a cherry tree

I fell in fear, upon my back
I said don’t look back, just keep on walking
When the big black horse said, “look this way”
He said, “Hey little lady, will you marry me?”
But I said no, no, no, no-no-no
It said no, no, you’re not the one for me
No, no, no, no-no-no
It said no, no, you’re not the one for me

And my heart had a problem, in the early hours
So it stopped it dead for a beat or two

But I cut some cord, and I shouldn’t have done that
And it won’t forgive me after all these years

So I sent it to a place in the middle of nowhere
With a big black horse and a cherry tree

Now it won’t come back ’cause it’s oh so happy
And now I’ve got a hole for the world to see

And it said no, no, no, no-no-no
It said no, no, you’re not the one for me
No, no, no, no-no-no
No, no, you’re not the one for me

Not the one for me

Said no,no, no,no, no, no, no, no, no, no-no-no
You’re not the one for me
Said no,no, no,no, no, no, no
You’re not the one for me

Big black horse and a cherry tree
I can’t quite get there ’cause my heart’s forsaken me
Big black horse and a cherry tree
I can’t quite get there ’cause my heart’s forsaken me

“Suddenly I See”

Her face is a map of the world
Is a map of the world
You can see she’s a beautiful girl
She’s a beautiful girl
And everything around her is a silver pool of light
The people who surround her feel the benefit of it
It makes you calm
She holds you captivated in her palm

Suddenly I see (Suddenly I see)
This is what I wanna be
Suddenly I see (Suddenly I see)
Why the hell it means so much to me

I feel like walking the world
Like walking the world
You can hear she’s a beautiful girl
She’s a beautiful girl
She fills up every corner like she’s born in black and white
Makes you feel warmer when you’re trying to remember
What you heard
She likes to leave you hanging on her word

Suddenly I see (Suddenly I see)
This is what I wanna be
Suddenly I see (Suddenly I see)
Why the hell it means so much to me

And she’s taller than most
And she’s looking at me
I can see her eyes looking from a page in a magazine
Oh she makes me feel like I could be a tower
A big strong tower
She got the power to be
The power to give
The power to see

Suddenly I see (Suddenly I see)
This is what I wanna be
Suddenly I see (Suddenly I see)
Why the hell it means so much to me

“Other Side of the World”

Over the sea and far away
She’s waiting like an iceberg
Waiting to change,
But she’s cold inside
She wants to be like
the water,

All the muscles tighten in her face
Buries her soul in one embrace
They’re one and the same
Just like water

Then the fire fades away
But most of everyday
Is full of tired excuses
But it’s too hard to say
I wish it were simple
But we give up easily
You’re close enough to see that
You’re…. the other side of the world
to me

On comes the panic light
Holding on with fingers
and feelings alike
But the time has come
To move along

Then the fire fades away
But most of everyday
Is full of tired excuses
But it’s too hard to say
I wish it were simple
But we give up easily
You’re close enough to see that
You’re…. the other side of the world

Can you help me?
Can you let me go
And can you still love me
When you can’t see me anymore

Then the fire fades away
most of everyday
Is full of tired excuses
But it’s too hard to say
I wish it were simple
But we give up easily
You’re close enough to see that
You’re…. the other side of the world
Ohh…. the other side of the world
You’re…. the other side of the world
To me.

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in Music, QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to K. T. Tunstall

  1. Zathras says:

    Hmmmm…for me the links were not present before, but now they are.

    Good sounds!

  2. celogomama says:

    Amazing musician. I never would have guessed she was Scottish, esp. since country stations play the song round the clock.

    Thanks for posting. Lyrics are very poignant and I hadn’t quite made them out in the songs.

  3. lizardqueen says:

    Z: Besides the hyperlinks that I have up in the song titles?

  4. lizardqueen says:

    Correction: It wasn’t YouTube that the Hubby found her performance, but I don’t remember the Dutch site’s name — it’s like YouTube, but Dutch! 🙂

  5. Zathras says:

    Looks interesting–do you have a link to the UTube site?

  6. mexalapotis says:

    I have this cd if you wanna rip-I mean BORROW-it… 🙂

Leave a Reply

