138 BPM

… and, one week later, I’ve gained *another* two pounds, putting my weight, at the end of the 36th week, to 150 pounds.  Again, all of it right in front of me.

 No wonder I’m out of breath when I climb the stairs at work.  Good golly, Miz Molly!

Since I’m close to the due date, the good doctor checked my plumbing — i.e. see if the cervix is dilated or not.  No change.  He also did a swab for strep, which is routine for the 36th week check-up.  As with all diagnostic tests, no news is good news, so if I don’t hear from him, then it’s all thumbs up.

And afterwards, we’re in his office, with me filling out disclosure forms in preparation for the delivery, including approving him as the doctor at delivery.

It’s rather surreal.  I haven’t even had the baby shower yet (that’s my sister’s planning — should be coming up soon), checked out the hospital where I’ll be delivering Daniel, or even packed an overnight bag.

“Call me *immediately* when you go into labor: contractions that last one minute, are five minutes apart, and are consistent like that for an hour; or your water breaks,” the good doctor says, peering at me over his glasses.

Labor.  Right.  Labor.

Wow.  I’m scared silly.  SQUEEEE!

I’ll be having checkups every week, each time checking to see if I’m dilated or not.   Whew.

Getting close now…

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in Family & Parenthood, QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 138 BPM

  1. Kiki says:

    Wow. You’re almost there (might be since it’s been 3 days since this post)!

    We can’t wait to hear the news. Let us know if there’s anything you guys need.

  2. Steph says:

    Hmmm… wel, we always made last minute runs to Whole Foods and then packed a bag the last week.

    Probably not the best idea, but B was induced, the born via c-section. The other 4 were c-sections, too.

    5 children in my life, and I still have no idea what real labor feels like.

    Best wishes and many, many hugs.

    It’ll all be worth it when you see his sweet face!

Leave a Reply

