Whoo-eee, PQC

My very first full-time teaching gig was at Paul Quinn College, with my tenure running from 2002-2004, before I returned to the DCCCD as a full-timer (as opposed to being the adjunct that I was previously).  “Problems” and “fourth-tier school” don’t even begin to describe what PQC was and, as it turns out, still is.

Whoa.  Wwwwwhoooaaaaa.

Except for running into a former PQC colleague (and a very good friend, I might add) at my current campus last semester and then him emailing me from his summer gig at Denali National Park, I haven’t thought of PQC since I jumped ship back in 2004.  But PQC was in the local news this past evening (about the mandatory “business casual” student dress code).  Curious, I checked my former campus, and said to myself, “Oh, I had seen this coming.”

Any college that has *no* major in the traditional Liberal Arts (like English, History, or Politics) cannot call itself a liberal arts college.  And SACS putting the school on probation?  I wish I could say I’m surprised.  But let’s just say there was a reason why I jumped ship back in the summer of 2004.

I understand the importance of Historically Black Colleges/Universities (HBCUs) in the landscape of American higher education.  HBCUs like Morehouse College and Howard University are known for their historical importance and academic excellence. But many HBCUs struggle; and just as Bishop College died on that same site, PQC is on life-support and, really, is on its death-throes.  Perhaps it would be better for the administration to just let PQC die gracefully, with the students secure in transfers to other schools (like the nearby UNT-Dallas, whose impending grand opening made the administration at PQC quake in their boots when I was a faculty member there).

It’s still sad when a school dies.  But in this case, it would be for the best.

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in EDUCATION, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

