Colors of a Room and a Car

Friday afternoon, my youngest sister Shell officially declared the painting “done”.  As it turns out, she’s a perfectionist when it comes to painting rooms, and she was still irked by not having the lines absolutely straight (which is why she came back Friday, to do more “touch up” work).  But even she had to admit that she really needed to stop before she got too obsessive about it.  ::grin::

Here’s a small pix of one corner of the room.  I’ll reserve a picture when the room is in its full “nursery glory.”  Heh.

Shell didn’t take very long to finish her “touch up”, so I brought her and our sister Wen to the David McDavid Honda dealer to trade in my “stormtrooper white” (as the Hubby calls it) 2003 Mazda B2300 pickup for a 2007 Honda Fit.  (I would’ve liked to keep my truck, for it was paid for and practical in hauling all sorts of stuff — but not exactly child-seat friendly, so away it goes).

Yes, I was considering a Honda Element.  But after the Grand Roadtrip to Canada (in which the Hubby’s Fit was the roadtrip car), I was so impressed with how it withstood 6,000 miles in two weeks of travelling (including going up and down the American and Canadian Rockies), that I finally chose the Fit over the Element.

This was what I drove off the lot with:

The color’s called “Lunar Mist Metallic” — kind of a pearlescent light blue with a touch of light green in it.  When I arrived home, I declared to Janus Gate and the Hubby, “Since you [motioning towards JG] and I named his car Phoebe, you and he can name my car.”  After treating everybody to dinner at Empress of China, a local Chinese restaurant, JG and the Hubby christened my new car “Banff” after the waters found at Lake Louise in Banff, Alberta, on the Canadian Rockies border between Alberta and British Columbia:

(The Hubby took this photo on July 13, 2007.  Pretty, ain’t it?  I would very much want to see this beautiful place with my own eyes someday.)

Back to Banff (the car, not the place): the Fit is indeed a very zippy car.  As JG mentioned, at one point she was passing a vehicle at 105mph, and to her it felt like 70.  Just as the Hubby says, the comfy highway cruising speed for the Fit is 80mph, all the while thinking you’re going 65.  Still enamored with my new car, I drove Banff as JG, the Hubby, and I went to NorthPark Mall yesterday to the Build-a-Bear Workshop (JG got the Hubby a black bear, and he got her a turtle).  And — oh my!  80mph!  Without even a shimmy or the tach going above 3000 rpm.

It’s so cool… and I’m sure Daniel will have loads of fun, strapped in his car seat as his mommy makes “brrrmmm-brrrmmm!” noises, zipping through DFW traffic.  Wheeee!

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in Family & Parenthood, Pop Culture, QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Colors of a Room and a Car

  1. Pingback: Shopping at Goodwill Pays Off « I Am the Lizard Queen!

  2. lizardqueen says:

    Nicole: Hi there! And your youngest daughter is 1 now? You’re right — time does fly! And, yes ma’am, I’ll indeed post some pics when the time comes.

    Audie: 110mph? Wheee!

  3. Audie says:

    ~cough~thatwas110~coughcough~

    😉

  4. Nicole says:

    Love that wall color! It’s so exciting to see that you’re getting ready for the new little one. My newest is already 1, if you can believe that! Time flies.

    Love the name you’ve chosen for him. I hope you post some pics!

    Take care,

    Nicole

Leave a Reply

