Two Movies and One Book

First off, Deepa Mehta’s Fire is beautiful and painful and lovely, which I saw, courtesy of Netflix, viewed this past afternoon. (Note to readers: it’s currently 1:23AM as I write this.)  On a *totally* different trajectory, Transformers is major Big Dumb Fun and Eye-Candy, which my sister and I saw after a quick late-ish dinner at Chili’s.

But that’s not the reason why I’m posting at 1:23AM on July 21, 2007.

Simply put: I got The Book.  I raced to my local Barnes and Noble (where I reserved my copy months ago) as soon as I got back into my neighborhood.

All I can say is that I’m glad that my teacher cancelled shing yi class this Saturday morning, because guess who’ll be up, gobbling up the next 759 pages?

And, oh yeah — I flipped to the 759th page.  I can hardly wait to see how Rowling got there.  🙂

7/22/07 2:35pm CST Update:  Done reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows. You’ll find no spoilers here.  Just READ IT.  And, yes, I can hardly wait when the movie comes out (two? three? years from now?).   So now, I’ll be lending my copy to Janus Gate, to share the love!  🙂

This entry was posted in AVOCATIONS, Movies, QUIRKS, Reading, The Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Two Movies and One Book

  1. Heather says:

    I tried books on tape during my annual Thanksgiving pie baking marathon, but I kept just sitting down and staring at the CD player. Later on the road to family for thanksgiving, we tried listening to Alice in Wonderland, but kept laughing and couldn’t trust ourselves to drive safely.

  2. lizardqueen says:

    Heh!

    Also, I have a feeling that “books on tape” will become a large part of my life in the future.

  3. Heather says:

    I just finished The Book. My kids will be happy to have me back. I don’t read as much any more. Short stories usually have to do, because I’m terrible at pulling myself back into the world. Although, I know in the future my kids will learn when to talk to me.
    “Mom, my teacher wants you to sign this detention slip.”~kid
    “huh?, okay whatever..”~me with my face in book
    “Mom can I take your credit card and car and pick up a few friends?”~kid
    “huh?, okay whatever..”~me with my face in book

Leave a Reply

