Painting the Guestroom Green

Since the Animal/Jungle nursery theme found at Target is primarily light green, then the walls in the guest room (which are currently semi-gloss white, with the exception of one half-wall that’s a dark, sponged-in green) should be green as well, yes?

But — wow, gradations of not-light green/not-dark green abound in the wallpaint world.  I have these paint-swatch cards, in various shades of non-dayglo-green, and I have no clue which version of green would be the best.  I’ll wait till the Hubby and Janus Gate get back from the Canada road trip for their opinion, since they have better color sense than I have, by leaps and bounds.

My youngest sister already told me that she’ll help with the painting and, in fact, expressly forbade me to try to paint on my own.  “Paint fumes are bad for you,” she said, and she’s right.  Sometime next week, there’ll be a little painting party, methinks.

What with two friends bringing me their crib this weekend, I’ll have a better sense of what green would work with what I have in the will-be nursery.  I’ve already decided to leave the futon with its sage-green comforter in the room; images of late-night breast-feedings and me half-sitting/half-reclining dance through my mind, so it makes sense to leave something comfy for me to be while I’m feeding and holding Daniel.

I’d also like to leave Janus Gates’ bird watercolors that she painted for me three years ago, as well as the black-and-red peacock blanket that my parents got in Taiwan, before I was born.  Burgundy curtains already adorn the windows, which I may leave alone or replace with green ones.  But, for all above, we’ll see.  The three-drawer chest that I put together earlier this week lives in the closet, and so the only real furniture in the room, besides the futon, will be the crib and changing table.  A good thing, since the room isn’t very large (as are all the bedrooms in the house).

Nesting — preparing for Daniel — continues…

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in Family & Parenthood, QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Painting the Guestroom Green

  1. SD says:

    OMG, that sounds so beautiful! (And soothing!!)

    Do you have need of a boppy? I found ours, and it is a really helpful way to hold a baby for extended time.

    Can’t wait to see you!! HUGS!!

Leave a Reply

