Gun Shopping

Tomorrow morning, my youngest sister, my father, and I will be heading over to Cheaper than Dirt to get li’l sis her first gun.  Normally, this would be a “happy happy joy joy” thing for me — as longtime readers would know, I have both a semi-auto and a CHL to carry it on me if I should choose.  But the occasion for this trip is somber:  My sister’s house (which is my parents’ old house) was burgled a few months back, and last week somebody tried to break in, *knowing that she was at home.*

To say the least she’s shaken up a bit.

In Texas, one can use deadly force in order to protect one’s property.  A person doesn’t even need a license in order to keep a gun for protection in one’s own home, which I clarified for my sister since she was a little confused on that point. 

I have no idea if she’s comfortable shooting, so it looks like occasional trips to the gun range as well; the nearest one where she lives would be the one I go to, DFW Gun Range.  I haven’t been there since the CHL class last summer (wow, that was one year ago).  And what with my pregnancy, I’ve been kind of wary hitting the gun range these days (although putting holes into paper targets has always been a de-stressing exercise for me).  But there’s my father, Navy veteran that he is, who could walk her through the gun handling and shooting.

Either way, my sister will have plenty of support, learning how to handle a gun responsibly and safely.

And, hopefully, she’ll get back the peace of mind that the motherf#%er took from her.

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in AVOCATIONS, Martial Arts/Fitness & Exercise. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gun Shopping

  1. There’s also an outdoor range in Irving – Elm Fork. I haven’t been in a few years but it was a friendly place.

    I agree it’s a really good idea to go out and get very comfortable. I hope your sister’s problem goes away soon!

Leave a Reply

