I Am a Writer

I am a Writer.

I write to live, and I live to write.

I am fortunate enough that I make my living teaching writing — first-year college Composition, that is.  In Composition I, I instruct how to write personal essays, in which my students explore their own memories, their own beliefs and convictions, in non-fiction essays which follow standard academic manuscript rules.  In Composition II, I instruct how to write argumentative essays, in which my students explore their own reasons of why they believe what they believe and to defend that belief, culminating in a capstone research project, exploring the role of an individual in his/her society.

Occasionally, I teach Literature.  How I teach it, however, is as a humanities/arts course, in which we explore the inner convictions and insights of the author’s take on his/her society, as expressed in poem, short story, and (if time permits) novel.  I teach the class as a writer who appreciates writers and their works.  I am a teacher of writers.

But I am also a student of writers.  I read, learning from others’ insights, narratives, and all. 

And I write.

It’s part of who I am.

I live, I breathe, I love… and I write.

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in AVOCATIONS, Creative Writing, The Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Am a Writer

  1. Madeleine says:

    beautifully put.

Leave a Reply

