Day B4 Lent

It’s Mardi Gras time, which, for a lot of people who don’t know what Lent is, simply means drinking a lot, wearing beads, sounding like a bad rendition of Justin Wilson, and flailing to zydeco.

For me, it means tanking up on sinigang na baboy, because tomorrow I starve.

Okay, technically I’m exempt, since I’m pregnant.  But it’ll be Ash Wednesday, and my cradle-Catholic sensibilities don’t feel right if I don’t cut back on the food.  Granted, if I have a bad Morning Sickness day tomorrow, the issue would be moot.  Heh.

Of course, I’ll be traveling during Ash Wednesday, heading down to College Station, the Land of the Aggies, for a work-related conference once I dismiss my afternoon class.  So what with last minutes prepping for that, packing, teaching, and travelling, I’ll have a very active Ash Wednesday.  Whether I’m able to keep the fast should be the least of my problems.

To say the least, this Lent will be a little different from previous years.  By the time Easter rolls around, I should be in my 14th week, God willing.  A festival of renewal and life, indeed.

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day B4 Lent

  1. JimDesu says:

    I used to keep some pretty miserable fasts during Lent, but eventually just settled on giving up my new-year’s resolution. 🙂

Leave a Reply

