Naptime!

Study: On-the-job naps might help heart

 I *definitely* like this.

I remember when I was an office wonk, feeling that midafternoon “dip” around 3pm, where I was keying in info in a spreadsheet or database, and finding that, many many keystrokes past, I had *fallen asleep* and therefore had keyed in the info all wrong.  Wasted time, wasted productivity.

Sometimes it would get so bad (and the work was so tedious), that I’d actively search for a deserted office or closet space and powernap for fifteen minutes.  Just shut my eyes in the dark and just be *out*.  Reboot.  Afterwards, I could get back to work with less careless mistakes.

One advantage of my job is that, during my non-classroom, non-meeting, non-advising, non-grading, non-planning hours, when my body has to be on campus but my mind doesn’t, I can pull up a comfy pillow and take a quick nap.  And it’s perfectly fine, as long as the door is closed shut so that folks don’t hear you snore or see you drool.

🙂

Siestas… we need ’em!

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in History & Currents Events, LQ POV. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Naptime!

  1. James says:

    1pm….3pm….just try to impose something like that on a culture that is wrapped around the work ethic of Northern Europe. We have stores that will not close for the very Mediterranean idea of the Sabbath, and the idea of losing business every single day for something as weak as the human constitution cannot survive here.

    As a southerner, I would not mind this at all. When I was in Rome I loved the fact that businesses opened late, had a two hour (or better) closure in the afternoon and they stayed open late. The spanish siesta was not so far from the lifestyles of the old Texas towns, but there is on way it can be now, Alas.

  2. Zathras says:

    My problem is more with 1pm than with 3pm. Right after lunch my body wants to concentrate on digestion. By 3pm, it has snapped back and on its second wind.

Leave a Reply

