And Now for Something Completely Different

Braided rugs.

I have in my guest room’s closet just pounds and pounds of wool rug yarn.  Many many colors, too.  I got it cheap earlier last year, and it has been sitting, in various degrees of skein-tangleness, since that time.

The problem that I had was I was expecting a tad bit softer stuff.  My experience has been mostly churning out blankies, hats, scarves, and an occasional sweater or sock.  But this stuff is too rough, scratchy, and stout for that sort of thing.  Well, duh.  It’s *rug* yarn after all.

So.  Since last year was The Year of Insane Busy-ness (finishing up my doctorate, getting a new job, teaching through the summer break, and being Uberfaculty member at the new campus), I let the “How the heck do I make rugs out of this?” question sit on the back burner.

 Until now.  Tee-hee-hee!

Can I just say how much I *love* the Internet and folks gracious enough to put up detailed info on their web pages on how to make braided rugs out of rug yarn?

I’ll put up a link soon on the patterns I found.  Cheers!

*****

Update:  Here are two links:

Crochet or Braid a Rug Patterns 

Rug braiding instruction

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in Arts & Crafts, AVOCATIONS. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And Now for Something Completely Different

  1. Anna says:

    That’s pretty awesome…Reclaim your closet space while creating floor coverings in nifty colors! Go, you!

Leave a Reply

