New Year’s Day 2007

First off, Happy New Year, everybody! 

Now for the nitty-gritty — I don’t have resolutions per se but more of “gotta get projects done”:

1. Revise MA thesis.  I’ve been percolating all December, instead of writing, which isn’t my usual SOP.  But I’ve had an epiphany just a couple of days ago that would totally transform my MA thesis so that it would be barely recognizable from its current form.  However, it would be better.  A whole lot better.  I have a feeling this will be my main writing project this Spring 2007 semester.

2. Finish the Comp I Handbook.  I’m debating whether to tie off what I have (about 18 pages, really just an Intro to the Writing Process) or continue with original sample essays of different kinds of essays.  The more I think of it, the more I’m thinking of tying it off.  I already use a textbook that is excellent in explaining the different kinds of essays.  I figure this little handbook can be an easy reference.  Also, my MA thesis is starting to become a priority for me, and I need to clear mental space for that.  So, short, sweet, cheap handbook (since I want to publish this and make it available for folks online).

3. Clear past writing detritus.  My kinda-sorta sci-fi/fantasy novel, _Island in the Moon_ is dead.  The more I think of it, the more I realize the ideas, people, and passions I want to write about I can do better in revising my MA thesis.  Why am I holding on to an unfinished work, based on an idea I had when I was thirteen years old?  Out it goes.

4. Continue with the great “Dissertation to Book” project.  I should hear from Mercer University Press between February and April on whether they’ve accepted my manuscript or not.  I’ll know what the next step is then.

5. Save class notes from acid-paper death.  They’re all handwritten in my horrible, left-handed scribble.  That means manually typing stuff in or just scanning them whole-hog.  Most of my notes are worth saving, for reference and even teaching material (which I’ve used as such).  Also, it would be nice to clear up physical space in my home office, to get rid of all of those ugly three-ring binders.  VERY MUCH A LONG-TERM PROJECT.  But with HUGE long-term dividends, especially if I’m serious about creating a new kind of secondary school (6th grade through 12th grade).

6. On the uber-personal front: Tackle my infertility issue and beat it.  Continue to support kith and kin.  Continue to beat back the Aging Monster with good diet and exercise.  Continue to do Creative Debt Management.  Continue to do evil things to yarn.

7. On the uber-professional front: Continue to do my job well as an English professor in a community college. Update my CV as needed.  Oh, hey, I need to buy Ph.D. graduation regalia, for my community college’s commencement exercises.  Need to do that, and soon.

2007 will fly by like a sparrow in a hurricane.  Bring it on!  🙂

This entry was posted in QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

