Project Management

I don’t multi-task in the usual sense of that word, that is, have many tasks going at the same time.  II tried multi-tasking, and I SUCK at it, often forgetting what the heck I was doing as I would shift from one task to the next.  I’d end up feeling that I was never getting any one task done, while doing a half-ass job in all of them.

 So, instead of multitasking, I break down projects into bite-size tasks, and I do one task on one project till it’s DONE.  Then I move on to the next task and do *that* intensively till it’s done, and then I move on to the next task.  Rinse, lather, repeat.  Sometimes they’re a string of tasks on the same project.  Sometimes, after finishing one task, I switch to a task on another project.  Either way, it’s always been one task at a time for me. 

If a project doesn’t have too many tasks, then I often move from task to task to task, all down the line, until the project is done.  For instance, I started the “publish my poems and short stories on Lulu” project on Sunday afternoon and finished it Monday night.   I already had the poems and short stories in separate Word doc files, accumulated over the years.  After researching on Lulu’s site, I started to pick what peoms and short stories I wanted in the book.  All I did was put them together into one manuscript format, did a book layout on the file, and then uploaded the file to Lulu to turn it into a pdf e-book.  After picking the cover, I officially got the thing published, in so far as the galley proof stage.  I’ll be getting my printed copy of the galley proof in a couple of weeks, whereupon I’ll decide whether to purchase an ISBN or not. But that’s another task, for another day.

Today, my project was getting the Christmas gifts for my kith and kin.  For Christmas shopping, I made my list of names and shopped at only one place,  starting at 11:30am and finishing it at 1:30pm.  Then I got home, collected my gift-wrap gear, sat on the living room floor, and wrapped like a machine while listening to NPR.  With a breaks for eating and making sure Hubby, Janus Gate, and the cats next door are okay, I finished the gift-wrapping at 5pm, just in time for the Marmot to come over with dinner. 

Tomorrow — tweaking ENGL 1301 and 1302 syllabi, as preparation for the English Composition handbook I’ve been kicking around since the summer of 2005. 

And that’s how I manage my projects — paid and nonpaid.   Wheee!!!

This entry was posted in QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

