Christmas Season

Happy First Sunday of Advent!

This is the time when Christmas stuff in my family starts popping up all over the place in the house.  My parents LOVE Christmas — in the Philippines, it’s Party Central over there right now, where they grew up.  The four Sundays of Advent, midnight Mass, the twelve days of Christmas, Three King’s Day on January 6 — it’s one, big, continuous fiesta.  I didn’t grow up with certain Filipino-Catholic traditions, like the Misa de Gallo as my parents did, but Christmas is still one big YAY for me and my folks.

SQUEEEE!

This entry was posted in Pop Culture, QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas Season

  1. jonathon says:

    When I was little Christmas stuff didn’t go up until either right before on the 23rd or the 24th, or else on the last day of the Nat’l Rodeo Finals (The second weekend of December). It went down on the 6th of January (the Epiphany).

  2. Chris - Wichita says:

    Ya’ll wait till now for your Christmas stuff? thank goodness. I thought there was no sanity left in this world. My mother had the entire house filled with tacky looking crud the day after Thanksgiving… and lights…lights…everywhere…before Thanksgiving. GAH!

  3. Steph says:

    I finally am getting a groove on how to teach the kids about Advent & Christmas. This year, the house is swathed in purple 🙂

    I am so thrilled about homeschooling during this time, because we are shifting gears toward a much more intimate mode of learning. We are reading a lot together, and working on projects instead of the self-paced we do during ordinary time.

    Anywho, the long and short of it is : SQUEEEE! from me

  4. Maddie says:

    I’m totally with you on the Squeee…tree’s up and we’re drinking egg nog already. Best time of the year for my money!

Leave a Reply

