Snow Day

The Dallas County Community College District closed all its colleges today (which includes mine and the Hubby’s) due to the bad winter weather.

 Now, to my readers up North, freezing rain, sleet, and a light dusting of snow doesn’t warrant schools getting closed.  But in north Texas, where many drivers have no clue how to drive on ice — especially “black” ice, where the road only looks wet, not icy —  we speed-demons get into trouble, accident-wise.  Erring on the side of caution, businesses and schools (but especially schools — who wants to deal with school bus accidents?) often close for the day when the winter weather jeopardizes road conditions.

So, the Hubby and I are having an unexpected Snow Day.  It kinda sucks because today I’m supposed to be teaching my four classes-in-a-row, all of them finishing up essay writing projects before turning them in on Tuesday.  Also, my boss was supposed to observe me today, at 1pm.  What with the last week of instruction just next week, I don’t have time left to make up anything.  But c’est la vie, right?

But the snow’s pretty.  Here’s a pic, from my front yard.  What you can’t see from the picture is the snow continuously falling from the sky.  🙂   I guess winter’s coming!

Snow Day

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Snow Day

  1. happycrow says:

    I learned to drive on Rhode Island snow and slush, got my driver’s license in VA. The type of slush we get here is VERY similar to springtime mess in New England. I can drive on it, but it’s difficult, dangerous, and requires your absolute complete attention. Not at all like real yankee snow.

  2. Zathras says:

    Ironically, it was warmer yesterday here in Michigan than down there. The storm is moving west to east, so we’re getting ours now. I’m looking forward to a 45 minute, 5 mile drive home.

  3. Maddie says:

    I’m so happy that we’re moving to a place that gets snow (even just a sprinkling)! It’s dropped to about 45 degrees in SF and I’ve been in heaven – never gets much colder than that here though…

  4. JimDesu says:

    If you’ve got a strong flash you can sometimes catch the snow on its way down. 🙂

  5. Ahh.. yeah, I was in a snowstorm in Vermont last year.. . As in 4 inches of snow on the road, and the traffic is going 50-60 mph. You can see about 20 yards in front of you. The snowplows go 50 mph. Yikes!

    I think Texas conditions are different though – because we tend to get a kind of “deceptive” slush here. I’ve seen plenty of northerners get into accidents here – it’s not just a matter of experience, the conditions are generally worse because it’s usually snow on top of ice or like you said – black ice.

Leave a Reply

