Hubby’s Car

It’s dying.  As in “overheating it’s gonna throw a rod” dying.   So we’re gonna buy one of these:  a 2007 Honda Fit.

Is it not nifty?  It certainly seems to be, since the things are selling like hotcakes in the Honda dealerships here in the DFW Metroplex that the dealers can’t keep them stocked fast enough.  Actually, the Hubby and I will be heading over to a dealer tomorrow to pay down *earnest* money for a Honda Fit that isn’t finished built yet.  *That’s* how dang popular these things are.

This’ll be the Hubby’s third Honda.  Not surprising — Hondas last forever.  His first Honda, a 1981 Accord, was still running in 1999 but wasn’t going to pass emissions anymore.   His current Honda, a 1988 Acura Integra, is overheating badly and parts are getting too expensive to get now that it’s 2006.  I figure, with a 2007 Honda Fit, it’ll start to die, oh, around the year 2025.

 I figure the hydrogen-fuel cell cars should start to be perfected, reasonably priced, and supported with fuel-cell stations around every corner by that time.  🙂

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in Pop Culture, QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hubby’s Car

  1. jonathon says:

    Turns out that wasn’t the registration sticker on the windshield; that’s the inspection sticker. The other one comes in when the plates get here.
    Never had to deal with a car that’s never had a tag before…

  2. lizardqueen says:

    SB: You’re welcome! I hope it’s big and boofy enough for those cold, Virginia winters! 🙂

  3. Superbiff says:

    Unrelated note.. YAY FOR BOOFY BLANKET!!!

    THANK YOU !!! 🙂

  4. eowyn says:

    Yeah, the Civic doesn’t even have enough trunk space for a dead body (unless it’s Deep Roy), but the 37 miles per gallon my 96 Civic gets make it the best damned thing around.

  5. jonathon says:

    OK, so we went to another dealer and found a Fit. The title is in process and I still need to add it to my insurance. I drove the car off the lot and only well after we came home did any of us realize that the car doesn’t have the inspection sticker. I am stressing needlessly about that, but it’ll eventually get straightened out. Oh well.

  6. jonathon says:

    It’s pretty similar, but it holds a little more. It has about the same power as my old Integra did with roughly the same mileage. We went to the dealership yesterday and the tried to get me to buy one of the new Civics, since the next available Fit will be an automatic in a couple weeks.
    So I test drove the Civic and I do admit that the manual transmission on the Civic is quite good, and the mileage is impressive given the power of the engine. I almost considered it, since I do much prefer sticks over automatics.

    But then I opened the trunk. What the hell were they thinking? We put down an earnest $500 on the next Fit coming in.

  7. JimDesu says:

    It reminds me of the old Civic CX 3-door they used to sell.

Leave a Reply

