State of the LQ Address

Health: I’m pretty much recovered from the stomach bleah that I had last week.  Now I’m in “get back to where I was” mode — back to eating yogurty stuff to get the probiotics back in my gut, mostly, and upping my protein intake.  Also, one week of *not* doing my morning exercise routine has made a dramatic difference to my physical appearance, i.e. I’ve lost muscle and also muscle tonus.  Yeah, I’m in my 30s (pushing mid-30s now), and muscle-wasting and bone-density shrinkage is a definite concern, especially since I’m Asian-small.  It’s been tough, trying to fit in my cardio-stretching-weights routine in the morning everyday this semester as it is, what with my insane teaching schedule.  I can feel The Slack settling in, since I’ve been away a week.  Getting back to my morning routine (starting on Wednesday, since Tuesdays I have no time in the morning) will be a royal S.O.B.

Work: A veteran faculty member told me earlier that being an active faculty advisor to a student club is equivalent to teaching a class.  So far, in midwifing the nascent student creative writing club, I realize that he is 100% right, which means, workload-wise, I’m putting in the work of teaching eight classes this semester.  Holy hand grenade, Batman!  8-0   But it’s good to see an active creative writing club finally taking root at this college, and, as one of the Student Programs and Resources (SPAR) office staff emailed me, “You have a good bunch of students.  I look forward to working with them in any way possible.”  Makes me smile, since I was actively recruiting from September to October to make this club alive.  But what *really* makes me smile is seeing the club members and officers start to take full ownership of the club.  I’m only an advisor!

Home: Slamming the mortgage principal like mad these past two years has gained the Hubby and me 47% equity in the house.  Yes, we are destroying all home equity loan offers like the plaque-infested rats that they are.  And yet, we’re so cheap in everything else that we do and buy that I was able to afford, straight from Ye Olde Checking Account, a brand new laptop from Fry’s Electronics.  Yea, verily, I am blogging on a Sony Vaio that is only 2.8 lbs and less than one-inch thick.  I’ve only been, what, *lusting* after one of these things for five years now, waiting for prices to come down from astronomical prices.  Still, it ain’t cheap.  But as Happycrow has told me, “You are *definitely* in the middle class.”  And I sold my “old” laptop (it being a little over a year old) to Happycrow, since he’d need it, now that he’s doing the itinerant college professor gig.  Of course, I’m able to do all of this because the Hubby and I still don’t have kids. 

Home, Part II: Speaking of kids, I felt like a kid again, seeing my guesties arrive for the annual Halloween Polidori Party this past Saturday.  SQUEEEE!!!  Good food, good drink, good stories, and even Day of the Dead sugar skull decorating, courtesy of Jason Henderson and Julia Guzman-Henderson.  Again — SQUEEEE!!!  I’m looking forward to Spring Polidori, which I’m batting around the theme of “Phobias.”  What do y’all think?  🙂

Hobbies: 1) Crocheting a blankie for Happycrow’s younger brother.  It’s coming along nicely, especially after getting more yarn from a Michael’s artstore on Sunday, since the yarn in my stock supply is rug yarn, not blankie yarn. 2) I got an encouraging letter from my prospective book publisher, that they received my manuscript and will take 4-6 months for their editorial staff to read  and review it.  3) I’m still mulling over my MA thesis rewrite, and happily my “A-ha!” moment with story #1 in the collection is still fresh in my mind. 4) Savate is still kicking my ass, especially with setbacks in my recent illness and general exhaustion from work this semester.  Yea verily it sucks, and yea verily, I must suck it up because it’s part and parcel of being in a martial art.  Yay. 

That’s it for now.  Time for me to put the squirrels to bed (by drowning it in tryptophan-laden warm milk) and get some shut-eye.  Heavy teaching schedule tomorrow.  Woo-hoo!

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to State of the LQ Address

  1. jonathon says:

    Hi Rufel,
    just posting a comment to say that Myda misses you over here at MVC…

Leave a Reply

