Battlestar Galactica

I know when I have been watching too much of SF Channel’s Battlestar Galactica when I drop a slice of pizza, toppings-side down, and the cussword that escapes me lips is:

“FRAG!”

That word is hilarious to me, because “frag” is editorial shorthand for “fragment” — my students often have “frag” (as well as “r-o”) peppered throughout their essays.  So, to have “frag” as the BG equivalent of the f-word is as funny as a barrel of zombie monkeys on espressoed brains.

(Why I keep bringing up zombie monkeys is beyond me.) ::grin::

Yes, back-to-back viewing of BG has influenced my diction… which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, eh?

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in Pop Culture, QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Battlestar Galactica

  1. Kiki says:

    Dang it. I never got into this show and now I’m hopelessly behind.

    p.s. Nothing wrong with language being influenced by TV. Imagine how much of a lesser place the world would be without the word Schmeg (sp?)!

Leave a Reply

