Fall Is Gearing Up

And it is doing so BIG TIME.

I spent all day at my new college, in a new faculty orientation program.  Afterwards, I found out that the English department *desperately* needed folks to cover class sections that were suddenly freed up when four faculty members unexpectedly left in the summer.  So, whereas yesterday I was prepping to teach two subjects, with two lesson preps, divied amongst five classes, today I find myself needing to prepare *four* lesson preps (because of the vastly different textbooks), divied between *seven* classes.

::breathe breathe breathe::

After the initial shock wore off, I reminded myself 1) I’d get paid extra for doing so, and it wouldn’t be chunk change, and 2) I’d done this before, and survived.

So!

It looks like I will have a *very* busy next week, preparing for my seven classes and attending all of the mandatory faculty meetings that’ll take up much of the workday.  ::whew::  One week of a summer break, and it’s back to the teaching grindstone!  Good thing that I like my job!

This entry was posted in EDUCATION, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fall Is Gearing Up

  1. Kiki says:

    Wow. Sounds busy indeed.

    Just remember… we can sleep when we’re dead!

  2. Zathras says:

    This fall I only have 8 teaching hours and 5 other contact hours. However, since this is going to be a critical semester for my research (trying to submit one paper for publication by the end of the month, another before the end of the semester, as well as doing some general “mathing up” of my research so that it will be an actual math dissertation), any teaching load looks enormous right now. My advisor thinks I can graduate in a year; it would be nice, but I’m not sure how it’ll work out that way.

  3. Zathras: c’mon,, I taught 8 classes in Seattle for 32 classroom hours per week plus 7 office&grading hours and I got plenty of sleep.

    LQ: If you’ve done it before, you know what time resources you need. Plus, you’re an expert on your topics — and charismatic to boot. You’re going to be fine as long as you make the usual efforts to keep up the work.

    *Great work on avoiding weekend classes! I was just given a Saturday lab at UTD and it’s gonna stinko!

    … and I talk from experience… Starbucks WILL destroy your health if taken too often and too much at a time.

  4. lizardqueen says:

    Yup, that’s 21 hours of in-class teaching. Add that to 15 hours of required in-office and general on-campus presence, and that makes a 36 hour work week. I’m giving myself half hour lunches M-Th, and (barring any required meeting scheduled on Friday), I can leave early on Friday after my last class, at 12:10pm.

    Of course, there’s grading outside this 36-hr schedule, but I can at least bring it with me to Starbucks or somewhere else besides my office or my campus. 🙂

  5. Zathras says:

    or this fall I guess. %#$@!$#, summer’s over already isn’t it?

  6. Zathras says:

    *7* classes? 21 hours of teaching? I guess you’re not planning on sleep this summer.

Leave a Reply

