Summer’s Winding Down

True, it’s still about 100 degrees Fahrenheit outside, and so avoiding heat injuries is still a big issue, especially while exercising outside.  But most of the kiddos in the DFW Metroplex started school today, and I’m already in the big transition, from summer teaching to fall teaching.

This is especially so, since I’m now at my new college, in the eastern part of the Metroplex, in Mesquite.  It’ll be a commute — 50 miles roundtrip, five days a week, from my house to the college.  But the folks seem friendly enough, and I’m looking forward to new blood and a new environment, even with the not-so-great textbooks that got grandfathered in from my predecessors’ book ordering.

I don’t *officially* have to report till next week, but, as I said, this is my new job, so I have all these little “new employee” stuff to do this week.  But I still want to go swimming, dagnabit, and I’m thinking of taking the Hubby to the local water amusement park for his birthday on Thursday, since he’s a “sun-and-surf” person, like me. 

Just a little bit of summer-time before the fall semester really wakes up, and it’s back to being the respectable college professor again.

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Summer’s Winding Down

  1. Kiki says:

    Summer is winding down when I can take the trash out at eleven at night and not feel heat radiating off every surface. Sadly that hasn’t happened yet.
    They say it will cool down to a balmy 100 degrees this weekend. Weeeeee.

  2. celogomama says:

    Oh, how I long for a truly cool evening! I have trouble even thinking about starting classes before autumn really sets in. However, the kids are already itching to begin, so…

    That’s quite a commute, LQ! Do you get good gas milage? Even my little commuter car is costing us a fortune in gas, and we hardly go out and about!

  3. happycrow says:

    It’s actually not bad at all here, Zathras: we’re just in the drought cycle, so we’re all begging for rain. Currently, west texas is getting all of it as it zooms through to Central Oklahoma.

    They’re due their share.
    It was cool enough that around ten p.m. I ran around the block for momentary exercise, pseudo windsprints designed to stress me then pause like my sparring rounds do, and although I was heated up from the longish sprints, it wasn’t anything to worry over.

    Now, I wouldn’t work out outside from 4 to 7 in the afternoon unless I had some ice water handy.

    Jim: you’re right, but I didn’t have time to go camp at the beach this year. Hopefully next summer I can figure out how to spend a week down there with the gulls and baby sea turtles.

  4. Zathras says:

    Meanwhile, up here in Michigan, we haven’t seen the top side of 80 for almost a week now–it got down to 47 Saturday morning.

    However, it’s not all good news. The beginning of the fall semester = the first frost is only about a month away.

  5. JimDesu says:

    sun + surf == evil 🙂

Leave a Reply

