State of the LQ

Update, 7/28/2006 @11:55pm: I’ve been adding content to the Polidori blog all day, from the hard copies that I have, which ain’t much.  Please email me your story, poem, play, or musing, and I’ll post ’em.  Long live amateur writers who write for the love of it… period!

I’ve been clearing my “Projects” plate this summer, in anticipation of my new teaching position at Eastfield College and of a return to active writing on my moribund fiction:

1) My dissertation is done and has gone into the “book proposal at the publisher’s desk” phase; there’s at least a month before I hear anything negative or positive, so it’s blessedly out of my hands, so I don’t have to think about it now.

2) Isquibibble’s launched, so I’ve fulfilled my web-designer duty of midwifing this website for my friend, and it’s her baby from now on.

3) I’m teaching my last class at Mountain View College, thereby happily fulfilling my last contractual obligation to that campus.

4) I’m posting content in the Polidori Society: Submissions blog, to get the thing going, and I may even refer my students to it, who are interested in creative writing.

My simple/non-multi-tasking self will enjoy having really only three things to think about, Big Project-wise: 1) teaching English classes at my new campus; 2) working in earnest at my martial arts training and my general fitness training; 3) writing Island in the Moon, the “Max and Marilyn” stories, and maybe even the other stories that I’ve written for Polidoris past that scream to be developed fully.

It’s especially the latter that I sacrificed in order to get my Ph.D. done.  So, it’ll be good to get back to the original reason why I became an English major (as opposed to a history, math, pre-med, or whatnot major) in the first place.

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in AVOCATIONS, QUIRKS, The Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

