Web-designing, yo! — revised!

I’ve been learning web-design over the past few years by trial-and-error, with my first attempt of my personal website, when Geocities was an autonomous entity, before Yahoo bought it (1997? 1998?).  My previous website had an insanely long URL, and I created it with a combination of Netscape Composer (don’t recall which version), MS Word, and MS Powerpoint.  Not suprisingly, the code was MESSY AS ALL GET-OUT, but I didn’t know that at the time.

Then, I discovered blogging in 2003, and I used Blogger’s online program.  In messing with the template, I wrestled with straight HTML code.  Good gravy, it took FOREVER to figure out the hexdexcode for changing the pumpkin-orange color to purple and yellow on my previous blog.

But it took me volunteering in December 2005 to web-design the art gallery site of Autumn Jackson, one of my friends, that I took web-designing seriously, seriously enough to purchase a copy of MS Frontpage, so that I could not only learn HTML from its split-design format but also appreciate clean HTML code.  Autumn’s site, Isquibibble’s, is not fully online, but I’ve put up a “COMING SOON” version at www.looklookair.com.   The majority of the pages are offline, as Autumn works behind the scenes in preparation for me to play with Paypal’s shopping cart utility.

Working on Autumn’s site was like taking a project-based, self-paced continuing education course in Web-Design, and I’ve learned a lot along the way.  I’ve learned to appreciate clean code  to the extent that I’ve streamlined my personal website, Rowena’s World, and, obviously, moved my blog to WordPress, where the design is cleaner with more functionality on the admin level.

Heck, I’ve done most of this over a three-day marathon this past weekend, that I gave myself a repetitive stress injury on my right hand because I got into “obsessed over project” mode.  Yes, that was silly of me, but all of this stuff is JUST SO COOL!  I even melded my blogging life with my creative writing life and created another blog, The Polidori Society: Submissions, yesterday and tinkered with the look of it today, before the Hubby and I headed to my folks’ place for the 4th of July.

Obviously, I like doing all of this web-designing stuff.  Wordcraft, mathematical precision, images: all towards an overall composition.  It’s all part of what some folks call “New Media Writing.”  Welcome to the Writing Life in the 21st century. 

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in Blogs and Websites, The Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

