Diss Update Umpty-umph

I got my most recent draft of my diss. I’ve lost track of what version this one is — seven? eight? After three years and three readers, I’ve definitely lost track. But the only thing writing-wise to do is minor editing (typos, punctuation, that sort of thing). The next print-out of this sucker will be my FINAL DRAFT.

::cue the “Hallelujah” chorus from Handel’s Messiah::

The Graduate Office at my university has tentatively scheduled my dissertation defense on Wednesday, May 10. My defense panel is still being put together. Graduation is on May 14. To say the least, I better not bomb my defense.

So, this is the final sprint of this Doctoral Program Marathon that I’ve been on for seven years now. Good God, seven years. Who knew, when I enrolled in my first doctoral course back in the Fall of 1999, that I’d still be a doctoral student in Spring 2006?

Seven years. ‘Bout time to cross that finish line.

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in Academic Research, AVOCATIONS, The Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Diss Update Umpty-umph

  1. Pingback: Odd Advice from a PhD « I Am the Lizard Queen!

Leave a Reply

