Patroness

I wish I was wealthy. Absolutely, stinkin’ wealthy.

“Well, Lizard Queen, so does most everybody,” you say. True, true enough. Who doesn’t want to hit the jackpot, like the Oregon family who won the $340 million Powerball recently? Make the debts go away, supersize the house/cars/wardrobe, help the family out with their debts, supersize their house/cars/wardrobe, stick the money in the bank and live off the dividends, act as if the world is one adult-sized playground/toystore because, hey, it suddenly is because you’re absolutely, stinkin’ wealthy?

Certainly, I’d like to make my debts go away instantaneously, but I can do that in ten years (it’s good to have only a mortgage and education loans as the only debts I have — no credit cards or car notes). And, sure, it would be nice if the house had a fireplace and a covered patio. Helping out my folks would be a given. Also, living off monthly dividends that are as big as my monthly salary would be sweeter than sweet.

However, those things aren’t as important as this: I want to be absolutely, stinkin’ wealthy because it’s only the wealthy who can start grant-making foundations which invest in research and creative endeavors: the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

I want to invest in people’s research and creative endeavors. I want these people to have a real choice in working in the discipline which they fell in love while they were in college and graduate school but, because of “The Real World,” they had to give up for a “Real World” day job.

If they choose, I want these smart, amazing people to have an institution that they can be affiliated with in order to have the benefits of institutional affiliation and yet have the freedom of an independent scholar or a freelance artist. I am biased, so that institution would be a combination school/institute, but what they teach would be what they love, and the students who come there would *want* to be there.

I want to invest in the future, in other words, by investing in people. In other words, I want to be a patroness.

And that’s why I want to be wealthy. Absolutely, stinkin’ wealthy.

Barring winning the state lottery, it’s going to take a lot of courage, a lot of hard work, a lot of patience, and a lot of planning.

Especially planning.

Good thing I like planning.

But I’m not very patient. Grrrr…

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in AVOCATIONS, Personal Wealth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

