Power in Blogging

Really cool insights about blogging from the founder of Six Apart, Mena Trott.

What resonates in me is her comment, “That’s what the Internet is to me. It has given me a voice that I had never imagined. … There’s a power you can harness if you know how to use a medium.”

The more I work in my field as a Composition and Rhetoric teacher (as opposed to being primarily a Literature teacher), I realize how important that folks are able to read between the lines of what anybody in the media, mainstream or otherwise, says and also that folks are able to communicate clearly and consistently what they see as true and right. It’s amazing how the student question, “How’s this relevant to me?” turns out to be “How can I do or say anything about that? I’m just an ordinary person.”

The more I teach, the more I realize just how disenfranchised my students can feel if they think about the society in which they live in. Part of the education business is making them aware of not only the other “official” voices out there but also that they have a voice, too, that they have the power to enact change if they only knew how.

What I like about blogging is precisely what Trott said: a medium that “ordinary” folk can have a voice and, surprisingly, discover they have the power to make a difference in society if they only knew how to harness it. Perhaps a small difference, but a difference nevertheless. And just how cool is that?

This entry was posted in EDUCATION, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

